The word ‘Guru’ has been derived from two roots, ‘Gu’ and ‘Ru’. ‘Gu’ means darkness and ‘Ru’ means light. The one who dispels all darkness and takes you towards light is a ‘Guru’. The one who dispels the darkness of sensuous pleasures and pains (which are temporary and fleeting) and takes you to the light of eternal bliss (which is permanent and everlasting), is a ‘Guru’. The one who teaches you the art of taming the five wild horses – ‘Kaam’ (Passion), ‘Krodha’ (Anger), ‘Lobh’ (Greed), ‘Moh’ (Emotional attachment) and ‘Ahankaar’ (Ego) and helps you to take the chariot of your life in the right direction of inner peace, is a ‘Guru’. The one who helps you to break the shackles of birth, death and re-birth and attain love of Godhead, is a ‘Guru’.
E-mail me when people leave their comments –

You need to be a member of ISKCON Desire Tree | IDT to add comments!

Join ISKCON Desire Tree | IDT


  • Volunteer
    Pranam Geeta. Hare Krishna.
    This is an excellent piece of knowledge.
    Simply wonderful. Take care, bye.
  • Thankx a lot... Hare Krsna
  • hare krishna................
This reply was deleted.