ISKCON Desire Tree - Devotee Network

Connecting Devotees Worldwide - In Service Of Srila Prabhupada

Q. What qualification should a chanter of the Holy Names of Krishna possess ?

A. One should have the following symptoms in order to constantly chant the holy names of Krishna:-

1. Humility.
2. Compassion.
3. Freedom from envy.
4. Freedom from false pride.
5. The willingness to offer respects to everyone.
( Commentary on Shikshashtakam, verse, 3.)

MESSAGE: Dandavat and pranam dear devotees. Hare Krishna. More questions and answers will be added on this page at the bottom. Take care, bye.

Views: 741

Replies to This Discussion

Q. 2.  What mentality should a devotee maintain ?
A.      A devotee should always maintain humility within the heart.
         ( Shri Bhagavatarka Marici Mala). 
Q. 3.  What is humility ?
A.     I am a servant of Krishna. I am poor and do not possess anything.
         Krishna is my all-in-all. This is humility.
         ( Jaiva Dharma, ch. 8 ).
Q.  4.  What is the root of a living entity`s original nature ?
A.     Nature is born from association. One`s nature is determined
        according to one`s association. The faith that a living entity
        develops by living out the karma of his previous
        life`s association is changed by the association he has in his
        present life. Therefore, association is the root cause of
        a living entity`s nature. 
       ( Sajjana Tosani  15/2).
Q.  5.  What is special about the name Krishna ?
A.       The holy name Krishna is the Lord`s eternal name that attracts
          everyone toward His ecstatic love and reveals His supreme existence.
          (Brahma-samhita  5/3).
Q.  6.  How many ways are there to cultivate hearing ?
A.       There are three ways to cultivate hearing.
          a.  To hear about scriptures.
          b.  To hear about the holy names and topics of the Lord.
          c.  To hear devotion-filled discourses.
           (Shri Caitanya-Shikshamrta  3/2).
Q.  7.  Is there any direct proof that sadhu-sanga brings auspiciousness ?
A.       By observing a devotee`s pure characteristics, in a short time a
          person`s mind is changed, his attachment for sense enjoyment
          decreases, and the seedling of bhakti sprouts in the heart. One
          gradually develops a taste for the Vaishnavas` food and behaviour.
          (Sajjana Tosani  11/11).
Q.  8.  How can one become a Vaishnava ?
A.       One becomes a Vaishnava by the mercy of a Vaishnava.
           ( Jaiva Dharma ch. 10).
Q.   9.  Are humility and compassion separate from devotional service ?
A.         Humility and compassion are not separate qualities but are
            included in devotional service. 
           (Jaiva Dharma, ch. 8).
Q.  10.  Is it beneficial to chant more rounds without feeling or eagerness ?
A.         One should try hard to constantly chant the holy names of Krishna
            clearly and lovingly rather than trying to increase the number of rounds.
            ( Harinama-cintamani).
Q.  11.  Which qualities manifest in a devotee as the companions of devotional service ?
A.         When one`s devotional service is awakened, the following qualities are
            automatically and simultaneously manifest:-
            1.  purity.
            2.  gravity.
            3.  peacefulness.
            4.  truthfulness.
            5.  friendliness.
             6.  humility.
             7.  simplicity.
             8.  equanimity.
             9.  indifference to sin.
            10.  compassion for all living entities.
             11.  refraining from sinful activities.
             12.  abandoning insignificant material desires.
                 ( Sajjana-tosani  5/1).
Q.  12.   How can we attain Vaishnava association ?
A.         If we attentively hear Krishna Katha from devotees, we are associating with them
            properly.  When we associate with devotees properly, we will realize both the
            greatness of Lord Krishna and the insignificance of the material world.  Then while
            engaging in the service of Lord Krishna under the devotees` order, we will strengthen
            our faith, attachment, and love for the service of Lord Krishna. To engage in the 
            loving devotional service of Lord Krishna is the ultimate goal of all living entities.
            (Amrta Vani). 
Q.  13.  When does Karma transform into devotional service ?
A.         Before changing its own form, Karma goes through three different stages:-
            1.  the stage of desirelessness,
            2.  the stage of offering the fruits of Karma on behalf of the Lord,
            3.  the stage of performing Karma on behalf of the Lord.
            When these three stages are surpassed, then Karma transforms into devotional service.
             ( Shri Manah-Siksa, ch. 10).


Receive Daily Nectar

Online Statistics

Addon Services

For more details:
Click here 

Back to Godhead Magazine !

For more details:
English | Hindi

© 2019   Created by ISKCON desire tree network.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service